The Complexity of Simplicity

Soup. A simple food item, often accompanying a salad or sandwich. However, making it is far from the simplicity of the final product.

Though I am not a giant soup connoisseur, and the extent of my soup preparation usually involves a can opener and a tin can, I figured I’d give it a whirl.

The base of the soup being prepared often defines how easy the overall process will be. Most vegetable and meat-based soups are made with a clear broth, such as chicken or beef. However, I tend to be a fan of the cream based, or thicker soup variety, which is usually much more involved.

So after watching a rerun of my favorite show, Gilmore Girls, where there was an appearance by a butternut squash soup, I was inspired to give it a try. Not only was this my first real attempt at soup, but my first encounter with the gourd known as butternut squash. I looked up a few recipes, which varied quite a bit, and decided to take a little something from each to prepare my version of the dish.

After I had myself a good giggle at the shape of the squash, I peeled and removed the seeds (I forget that pumpkins and squash are from the same family, until I split open the squash and its insides looked similar to that of its round, orange cousin).

Butternut Squash, peeled and ready to bake

I baked the squash at 350 degrees for about an hour. Once I removed it from the oven and let it cool, I cubed it and tossed the cubes into a blender. I then sautéed about a tablespoon of minced garlic, ¼ cup chopped onion with a splash of olive oil (I used red onion, even though most recipes call for yellow onion. I just happen to be a fan of the red).

I added the sautéed ingredients to the blender, along with a ¼ cup of water and ¼ cup of low-fat milk. With a pinch of onion salt and all-seasoning, I blended the ingredients until they were smooth. As I blended, I did add a dash more of all-season and onion powder, to my liking, but the intensity of the seasoning is solely up to that of the person preparing. Also, the amount of liquid used depends on how smooth you want the soup. I like it super smooth, where others may prefer something a little more chunky.

My Completed Soup

Overall, I am satisfied with the outcome of my dish, and am no longer frightened by making a nice thick soup, knowing that, even though there were quite a few steps involved, none of them were overly difficult. Next time, however, I would double the ingredients so that I could enjoy it more that just once, as my version of the dish was relatively low-calorie, but rather filling.

Happy Eating.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

