Who Needs Lay’s?

There is something about chips. You can’t have just one, or even just one handful. Most of us aren’t satisfied until we have made a legitimate dent in the bag.

The only problem with these delicious pieces of goodness, is that they are fried and laden with fat and calories, not to mention how greasy they make your fingers. But I have found a way around the calories, and the grease. I decided to make my own version of tortilla and pita chips.

This feat is actually not all that difficult. All you need is pita bread, or tortilla shells, depending on which you plan on making. I used the whole wheat version of each, just for the added nutritional value.

Pita Chips:

Using a sharp knife, I cut along the edge of the pita, and split in half. Once I did that, on my first trial, I brushed each side with olive oil, and then sprinkled garlic power over them. Using a pizza cutter, I sliced each round into triangular pieces. I put them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 8 minutes. Unfortunately, attempt one did not come out so well…

Round 1... Fail.

So on attempt two, I only light brushed one side of the bread with olive oil, and then stuck them in the oven, this time for only about 4 minutes, watching them closely so they didn’t burn.

Tortilla Chips:

The tortillas are made similar to the pitas. I brushed one side with olive oil, and then sprinkled with crushed red pepper, however, you can use just about any seasoning you’d like (my mom is a fan of lemon pepper). I then flipped the tortilla over, lightly brushed with olive oil and lightly sprinkled some Asiago cheese on, lightly pressing it onto the shells to make sure it stuck. Again, you don’t have to necessarily use Asiago cheese, any dried grated cheese will work (parmesan, romano, etc).

I also used the pizza cutter to cut perfect little tortilla triangles and baked them in an 350 degree oven for about 6 minutes.

Final Result - Pita Chips, Left; Tortilla Chips, Right

These homemade chips are deliciously addicting, and because they are baked and use olive oil, are a much healthier alternative to regular chips. I haven’t been able to stop eating them… guess that means I’ll have to make another batch soon!

Happy Eating.

This entry was posted in Healthy Alternatives, Junk Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Needs Lay’s?

  1. Pingback: Delicious AND Healthy… Who Knew? « For the Love of Food

Leave a Reply

