Why Spend Money When You Can DIY

Hello out there, food lovers. I apologize for my mini hiatus. I have an excuse, but it’s lame and typical, so I won’t bore you. However, even though I have not been writing, it doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking. Quite the opposite in fact, I have stored up a few posts worth of material.

I have learned something through my adventures, something very important. Groceries stores love to make the things I enjoy very, very expensive. Example #1: hummus. I LOVE hummus, it’s healthy and delicious. But, get in a grocery store, you’re looking to pay $4 for a small tub. On my single girl budget, not the most economically friendly food item, but the food item I can’t seem to live without.

Lucky for me, I have found a way around that. I have discovered hummus is extremely easy to make. As long as you have a food processor or a blender, you’re golden.

Take one (1) can of garbanzo beans (chick peas), throw them in your blender/processor, with a splash olive oil and lemon juice. I can’t give you exact measurements, because the you add what you want until it meets your personal preference. Begin pulsing the above ingredients until they start to get smooth (if it seems too thick, add a splash of water to thin it out a little).

Then comes the fun part, the flavor. Being a big fan of garlic, I throw in some minced garlic. But if you’d like something different, try some red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper. The nice part about homemade hummus is that you can make it your own, adding as much or as little as you want. And seeing that you probably already have lemon juice, olive oil, and your choice of seasoning in your kitchen, you only need to grab a can of garbanzo beans at the store, costing less than $1. Much more cost-effective, and equally yummy.

My delicious homemade hummus

Happy Eating.

This entry was posted in Delicious on a Budget, Healthy Alternatives, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Spend Money When You Can DIY

  1. Momma says:

    You amaze me !

  2. Shamwow says:

    Hey great post, I did not think I would find exactly what I was searching for until I came across this site on google!

  3. Dodi says:

    Hey Kristen! Love your blog! I LOVE hummus! And…I will be making my own today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

