Don’t Buy … DIY (Part 2)

So a lot of you maybe wondering why I waste the time making things that can easily be bought premade. Well, if you read my last post (if you haven’t, do it now!), the reason I refrain from buying premade is because I am a single girl and recent college grad, which translates into a very tight budget, with little room for food splurges. I’m not saying that premade is bad, not by any means, but I’d rather spend the 15 minutes it takes to make something from scratch, then spend $5 at the grocery store.   

So, on to experiment number 2: Pesto. I love pesto. It’s filled with garlic and it’s a lovely shade of green. And making pesto is a snap. All you need is fresh basil, olive oil, minced garlic, grated parmesan cheese and pine nuts (a word to the wise, however, pine nuts are EXPENSIVE, so I just leave them out, but that’s your call). The actual measurement of ingredients are:   

  • 2 cups fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan or Romano cheese
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts or walnuts
  • 3 medium sized garlic cloves, minced

The rest is simple. In a food chopper (or blender), pulse the basil leaves and nuts to break them up a little. Then add the garlic, pulsing a few more times. Then, add in the olive oil, a little at a time, continuing to pulse until the mixture starts to get smooth. Finally, throw in the grated cheese, and pulse a few final times until everything is good and mixed. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste, if desired.   

After you’re done, you may be confused as to why you have so little pesto …I know I was (I barely had a 1/4 cup!). But because pesto is so potent, a little goes a long way. I used mine for about 5 dinners before it was gone.   

Homemade Pesto

 

That’s it. Super easy to make and really tasty. A piece of advice: although pesto is obviously good on pasta, such as linguine, it is also great when you dip garlic bread in it. And, hey, while you’re at it… make your own garlic bread! Buy some ciabatta bread (or whatever kind of bread you like, it doesn’t really matter), cut it in half, lightly coat with olive oil and sprinkle with garlic powder. Pop them into a 350 degree oven for a couple of minutes until golden brown.   

Happy Eating.

This entry was posted in Delicious on a Budget, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Buy … DIY (Part 2)

  1. Dan Thimot says:

    FUCKIN LOVE PESTO

  2. Momma says:

    Sounds like the next time we are at your apartment- you should make us some pesto. It would save me money for a change !

  3. I was just doing some surfing on my Google Phone during my spare time at my work place, and I came across something I thought was intriguing. It linked to your website so I came over. I can’t really figure out the relevance between your site and the one I came from, but your site good none the less .

Leave a Reply

