A Twist On An Old Favorite

Pizza. It doesn’t matter who you are or what you do… everyone loves pizza. It is the universal meal. Bored? Order a pizza. Don’t want to make dinner? Order a pizza. Having guests over, either expected or unexpected? Order a pizza. It never gets old because there is so much you can do with it: switch up the toppings, dip it in something… it’s a blank (edible) canvas.

So what’s my twist on this wonderful piece of food-dom? No crust. No, I’m not saying eating just the cheese and sauce (even though that is my favorite part), I’m talking about putting the traditional pizza toppings on something other than dough.

I have recently fallen in love with the eggplant. I don’t know what took me so long, or why I missed the eggplant boat previously, but I love it. I have tried it in a lot of different dishes, but this has to be my favorite yet: Eggplant Pizza.

There is nothing difficult about it. Just slice the eggplant (personal pizza size, if you will), and brush will a little olive oil. In a 400 degree oven, bake the eggplant for 4 minutes, flip and bake 4 more minutes. Then, add the sauce (homemade or store-bought, your call), mozzarella and your choice of topping. Pop back in the oven until the cheese is melted, and viola! Personal eggplant pizzas! In my first attempt, I chose turkey pepperoni as my topping, but make it your own and get creative!

My Personal (eggplant) Pizza(s)

The final result was scrumptious. I ended up eating mine with a fork and knife because, although eggplant is tasty, the skin is a little tough (if you have a suggestion to help with this problem, please share). Either way, not only is this dish easy and quick, it’s healthy, especially if you use low-fat cheese. (Don’t worry, it’s not gross!)

Happy Eating.

This entry was posted in Healthy Alternatives, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Twist On An Old Favorite

  1. Momma says:

    I happen to have an eggplant in the frig so I will give it a whirl. I’ll keep you posted on the results.

  2. Interesting… as always.

Leave a Reply

