Recreating a Restaurant Favorite

One of the best parts of going to a restaurant is being able to get food that you just can’t find anywhere else. Sometimes it’s a special sauce, a unique side dish or an out of this world burger – and no matter how hard we look, we can’t seem to find anything quite like our favorite restaurant’s signature dishes.

To be honest, I have tried to recreate some of my favorites, including Panera Bread’s chipotle mayo, but have not had much success. However, I recently discovered something I could recreate, and it wasn’t difficult at all.

When I was younger, I used to LOVE going to Red Lobster. It was a special treat, usually for my birthday. However, as I got older, Reb Lobster lost it’s luster… except for one thing: the Cheddar Bay Biscuits. No matter what, they were always little pieces of heaven. Even though I didn’t enjoy the majority for the restaurant’s fare, I would go simply to eat those biscuits.

But I recently stumbled across a recipe for the biscuits, and with only 5 ingredients, I was surprised how quickly and how easily they could be made.

Here’s the recipe I used:

Ingredients:
2 cups baking mix, such as Bisquick
2/3 cup milk
1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 450.
  • Mix baking mix, milk and cheese until soft dough forms; beat vigorously for 30 seconds.
  • Drop dough by spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 8-10 min. or until golden brown.
  • Meanwhile, melt the butter in a saucepan over low heat and stir garlic powder; brush this mixture over warm biscuits before removing from cookie sheet. Serve warm. Makes 10-12 biscuits.

When you bite into these biscuits, you’ll swear they are the real thing. Impress your friends with these tasty, signature biscuits at your next dinner!

Happy Eating.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recreating a Restaurant Favorite

  1. Nicole says:

    When I saw this pop up on Twitter, I thought you maybe made the potato pizza that we just had @ Uno’s! 🙂 but the cheddar biscuits are yummy too

  2. kjputch says:

    Haha, I’ll have to do that soon and see if I can recreate that as well!

  3. Jess T. says:

    Never had them but it looks like something I could handle making!!! I’m definitely going to give them a try. I’ll keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

