Now That’s “Good Stuff” Eatery

During my vacation last month, I spent the first 4 days in Baltimore visiting a good friend from college. Unfortunately, she was not on vacation during my stay and left me to my own devices to keep myself entertained. Since Baltimore is a mere 45 minute train ride from Washington, DC, and I had only been to our nation’s capital once prior (for Barack Obama’s Inauguration, so sightseeing was limited, to say the least), I decided to spend a day walking the National Mall. I was a history major in college, so visiting historical monuments is exciting to me (read: NERD).

After walking around for a few hours, I received a text message from another college chum, Laura, berating me for not letting her know I was in town, so we decided to grab lunch together during her break. Now, as I mentioned in my previous post, I am a bit of a ‘Top Chef’ fanatic, so of course I knew that season 4 contestant, Spike, had a restaurant located in the Capitol Hill area, located just a few blocks from my friend’s office – Good Stuff Eatery, located 303 Pennsylvania Ave S.E. The name does not lie.

Now, when I say restaurant, it’s more of a fast-food place on delicious steroids, offering up burgers, fries and milkshakes. The place was packed, but between the seating outside and upstairs, we didn’t have a problem finding someplace to sit, and the wait for our food wasn’t terribly long (about 10 minutes). The prices weren’t too bad either – I paid about $15 for my whole meal, which was tasty and filling.

Laura and I both ordered the Farmhouse Bacon Cheese Burger, topped with applewood smoked bacon, cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomatoes and ‘good stuff’ sauce. The burger was an A+.

And my fries weren’t just regular fries, they were Spike’s hand cut ‘Village Fries’ topped with thyme, rosemary and cracked pepper. I couldn’t eat them fast enough.

To top off the meal, I indulged in one of the hand-spun chocolate shakes, which was creamy and thick, but not so think you couldn’t get it through the straw (which I find to be one of the most annoying things in the entire world).

All in all, if you find yourself in DC, I would definitely recommend checking out Good Stuff for a quick and delish bite.

Happy Eating. 

This entry was posted in Restaurants, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

