The Charm City – Baltimore Eats

Prior to March, I had not been ‘charmed’ by the Charm City, for no other reason than I had never had the chance to visit before. I must say, I was quickly won over. Baltimore is pretty chill in its own rights, and offers up some great eats. I was only there for 3 days and only sampled what the city has to offer, but my sampling was enough to seal my imminent return in the near future to taste some more.       

Sam’s Kid       

An Asian-Fusion Tapas Bar at 811 S. Broadway in Historic Fells Point. Perfect if you’re out and not looking to eat a huge dinner. Order a couple of dishes to split among your friends without spending a fortune.       

Ocean Spring Rolls

 

Yakitori Chicken Skewers

 

Crispy Calamari

 

The Reserve        

One of Federal Hill’s newest bars, located at 1542 Light St., is not your everyday pub. They offer a full menu, including lobster mac and cheese… yes, it is as good as it sounds. Learn more about The Reserve here.       

Lobster Mac 'n Cheese w/ Bacon, Smoked Brie and Scallions

 

The Pratt Street Ale House      

Sitting in the heart of Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, The Pratt Street Ale House, 206 W. Pratt St., offers up the usual pub fare, but the visit is worth it if you indulge in one of the establishments Oliver Ales, local brews made right in the restaurant’s cellar. I tried the Summer Light Ale which was light (as the name would suggest) and very refreshing. They offer a full menu of brews alone. Learn more here.      

Fed Hill French Dip

 

Summer Light Ale

 

 Nacho Mama’s   

If you’re looking for great Mexican in Baltimore, make your way over to 2907 O’Donnell St. in Canton, home to Nacho Mama’s. They offer an extensive menu of mexican favorites, all of which will fill you to capacity… and then some. As it was my first trip, I went for the restaurant’s name sake: “Nacho’s” Macho Nachos. Even though it was listed as an appetizer, or ‘Things b4 Dinner’ it was enough to serve 3 people as an entree. You get more than your money’s worth. Read more about Nacho Mama’s here.   

'Nacho's' Macho Nachos

 

     

 Koco’s Pub   

The first thing I requested upon my decision to explore Baltimore was to have a true Baltimore crab cake. My last night in town, I finally got my wish. We headed to Koco’s Pub, 4301 Harford Road, where I ate my first REAL crab cake. (Note: Crab Cakes are not supposed to be covered in breading. I’ve been SCAMMED up until this point!). The restaurant was locally voted ‘Best Crab Cakes.’ Check them out here.   

Crab Cake

 

    

Happy Eating.

This entry was posted in Restaurants, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Charm City – Baltimore Eats

  1. Leland says:

    So glad that Baltimore finally had a chance to charm you. Come back soon, you still need to try Berger cookies and pit beef!! 🙂

  2. Siana says:

    You forgot about the Bailey’s brownie sundae you had at Kooper’s. That was beyond heavenly.

Leave a Reply

