Bobby, Where Are You? Mesa Grill

Here’s a question: What is there not to love about Bobby Flay?

I mean, really. If you watch him on Throwdown, he’s just so funny and adorable. And if you see him compete on Iron Chef, he’s just so ridiculously intense. I simply adore him. So, when I was in NYC last month, I decided to make reservations at Mesa Grill, Bobby’s restaurant. Now, if you know anything about Bobby Flay, you know that he loves to grill… so if you are not a fan of grilled food, you might want to reconsider before booking a reservation.

The restaurant, located at 102 Fifth Ave (between 15th and 16th), has an extremely inviting atmosphere. It is super colorful and has some great ambiance, which can make or break a good dining experience.

The meal starts out with the restaurant’s signature Blue Corn Muffins, made with jalapeno peppers. They were served warm, causing the butter to soak right in, and had the perfect amount of bite while still retaining the traditional corn bread taste.

For my entrée, I decided to go with the Ancho Chile-Honey Glazed Salmon, served with a spicy black bean sauce, tomatillo salsa and roasted jalapeno crema. The picture I took does not do the dish justice… it was so colorful! I didn’t want to eat it, I wanted to use it as a decoration in my apartment.

The fish was cooked perfectly, it came apart in perfect bite size pieces. The sauces gave the dish a nice bite, but was perfectly complimented by the coolness of the salsa. The entrée was about $19, which was pretty much what I anticipated, and since I was dining alone, I didn’t feel guilty about it. (No, I’m not super lame, I just like going to eat by myself sometimes… It’s actually very relaxing.)

Now, I know you’re wondering… was Bobby there? I figured he wouldn’t be, but I was seated in an area where I could look into the kitchen, so I certainly peered in with hope, but no such luck. I guess that I’ll just have to be satisfied with what was written on the bottom of the menu…

Want to try Bobby’s Blue Corn Muffins? I found a recipe online… if you try it, let me know how they turn out!

Mesa Grill Blue Corn Muffins

  • 3 Tablespoons onion, finely diced
  • 2 ounces (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup red bell pepper, finely diced
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup fresh or frozen corn, thawed
  • 1 Tablespoon cilantro leaves, finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup blue cornmeal (can substitute yellow)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon granulated sugar
  • Set a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 400°F. Grease a 6-slot muffin pan with non-stick vegetable spray.

    In a small saucepan, melt the butter. Add the onions and garlic and cook until soft.

    In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the milk, eggs, bell pepper, jalapeño, corn and cilantro. Whisk in the butter mixture. In a separate bowl, stir together the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, soda, salt and sugar. Mix into the liquid mixture.

    Divide the batter evenly among the muffins slots and bake for 16 minutes or until set, turning the pan once for even baking.

    Happy Eating.

    This entry was posted in Restaurants, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    