Get Lost

Let me tell you a story… 

The Lost Girls: (left to right) Jen Baggett, Holly Corbett, Amanda Pressner

In January 2009, my senior year of college at Syracuse University, I was president of a campus organization which teamed up with another student organization to bring a group of women to campus to speak about blogging and their experiences in the media world. These women, Amanda Pressner, Holly Corbett, and Jen Baggett, referred to themselves as The Lost Girls. The LGs all had great media jobs in NYC, working at magazines and in TV… and all 3 of them quit. Yes, quit these dream jobs that anyone would have KILLED for.

They quit their jobs and left their fabulous NYC lives to travel around the world for a year in search of inspiration and in search of themselves. During their yearlong adventure, they blogged about their journeys on lostgirlsworld.com. The blog gained national attention from places like CNN and The New York Times. It sparked so much interest, they signed a book deal with HarperCollins.         

Following the event we hosted, myself and the other organization’s president were lucky enough to go out to dinner with the LGs and talk to them more about the blog, the book and the world of media in general. They were so enthusiastic and optimistic about everything we talked about, which, at a time when I (and everyone in my graduating class) was having every doubt in the world about my future in journalism, was extremely refreshing and uplifting.         

I kept in touch with the LGs, and even contributed to their blog several times. They have been great mentors and have been so helpful, offering great career advice and guidance. This past fall, when they decided to give the blog a makeover and expand it, they offered me a chance to join their team as an editor. I jumped at the opportunity they gave me to continue writing and editing. I currently work at an office job (following graduation, I gave up an internship at a magazine in NYC for the security of a full-time job in Syracuse) and they gave me a shot I might not have otherwise had.         

So, why am I writing this? Because the LG’s book, ‘The Lost Girls: Three Friends. Four Continents. One Unconventional Detour Around The World.’, officially hits shelves on May 11, and I recommend you get it. They have worked extremely hard on this book and have already received positive reviews from their peers.         

Excerpt from the book description:         

“…Along the way, the Lost Girls find not only themselves but also a lifelong friendship. Ultimately, theirs is a story of true sisterhood—a bond forged by sharing beds and backpacks, enduring exotic illnesses, fending off aggressive street vendors, trekking across rivers and over mountains, and standing by one another through heartaches, whirlwind romances, and everything in the world in between. This candid and compelling memoir will speak to anyone who has ever felt the desire to spread her wings and discover the world with her best friends by her side.”         

For information on how and where to pre-order the book, you can check out the link on their website.         

I hope they will inspire you as much as they have inspired me.         

Happy Eating Travels.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get Lost

  1. amarrofogmamn says:

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

